top of page

Congratulations Students: $5,000 Scholarships Awarded From the North Miami Educational Foundation

November 11, 2021

Reginald Lucien Florida International University, Kaysey Boscico University of Florida, Beatriz Zuloaga Florida International University, Nerlande Valsaint Florida A & M University, Eklia St. Leger University of Florida, Darlex Lucien St. Thomas University, Ian Lares-Chacín Florida International University & Linda Reyes Florida Atlantic University

Mayor Philippe Bien-Aime congratulates the twenty North Miami students who received $5,000 scholarships from The North Miami Educational Foundation, Inc. (NMEFI). Mayor Bien-Aime will host a private reception to honor the award recipients and their families on Tuesday, November 23rd, 2021 from 6:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. at the North Miami City Hall located at 776 Northeast 125th Street, 2nd Floor Lobby, North Miami, Florida 33161.

“I’m really proud of the 20 North Miami students who received $5,000 scholarships from the North Miami Educational Foundation. Congratulations and best of luck to all of the students as they pursue their dreams and continue to advance their education” said Mayor Philippe Bien-Aime.

As part of its mission, NMEFI aims to make higher education and learning a reality for North Miami students in need of an opportunity to attend college. Earlier this year, the foundation awarded twenty students with $5,000 scholarships to provide financial assistance during their Fall 2021 and Spring 2022 Semesters. The scholarships will be split in half and awarded during each Semester ($2,500 Per Semester). The students may continue to receive the scholarships entirely through college as long as they maintain high academic performances and continue to meet required criteria to receive the awards.

This year’s scholarship recipients are listed below:

Concordia University: Zachary Oxar
Florida Atlantic University: Frantz Junior Jacquet, Linda Reyes and Toriano Eiland, Jr. 
Florida A & M University: Nerlande Valsaint and Kaylin Rolle
Florida International University: Beatriz Zuloaga, Cynthia Kuisseu, Ian Lares-Chacín, and Reginald Lucien
Florida State University: Victoria Paul, Jordan Pastora and Samantha Prophete 
Miami-Dade College: Kimberly Muller, Samantha Michel and Ann-Adley Claveus. 
St. Thomas University: Darlex Lucien
University of Florida: Eklia St. Leger, Kaysey Boscico 
University of Miami: Jael Jean Charles.

For additional information on the North Miami Educational Foundation, please visit: The North Miami Educational Foundation was established in 2012 as a non-profit organization, through which scholarships would be made available to support high school graduates in their pursuit of post-secondary education. As part of its mission, NMEFI aims to make higher education and learning a reality for North Miami students in need of an opportunity to attend college. The initial funds for the scholarships were generated from the City’s lease agreement with the developer, Oleta Partners, LLC. NMEFI awards scholarships only to applicants who are North Miami residents; however, the scholarships are awarded to the best applicants fitting the required criteria. Applicants must demonstrate financial needs after completing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). Additionally, the award is renewable for up to four years as long as the student is an undergraduate, considered economically disadvantaged and best fit the scholarship criteria. For more information, visit:

bottom of page